Back and Again


Hii, again fellow human beings! Today I’m going to share the second poem I had written for the competition as I said in my last blog. I think it isn’t much creative and had alot of potential if I could do some justice, but as much as I’d love to edit it, I want to keep it raw and simple because let this poem be a reminder to all of us that none of us are perfect and that still works. Also, it gives some vaguely familiar vibes to “The Road Not Taken” but with the Antithesis? Or that’s just me, I guess. Anywho, here are the prompt lines:

First Line – Right to the end…

Last Line – ….crossed the bar.

And here’s what I designed into words:

Right to the end I kept walking. 
When it made no sense to go that afar.
But life is one even when there are several chances,
And walking back on the road you've chosen. 
Doesn't seem like a positive renewal of hope. 
So I think what they say, but try to do what I do. 
The cruel world takes me in although.
Now I regret having tread that path.
And though few but I have seen.
People coming back and going atop.
I hate all these stories,
That make me wish I had crossed the bar.

So, what do you think? About the poem, of course. Be sure to let me know because I do put out my poems here to get opinions on them. Also, I’m only suddenly getting this feeling that this could also somehow be turned into a song?? How would you make it sound and what music would you insert if that were truly to happen? Besides the usual stuff, let’s interact personal today. Are things alright for you or have you been somewhere between super busy or gloomy? That’s all from my side now. See you soon. Until then, be safe and wear a smile. šŸ™‚

-Devangi

19 thoughts on “Back and Again

  1. Sisso it’s a great one šŸ„° so.. proud of uā¤ļøšŸ‘keep doing then great job

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much bro! Love you ā¤ļøšŸ¤§

      Like

  2. So well written my friend

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sadje, I’m pleased to hear that!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Youā€™re welcome

        Liked by 1 person

  3. devangi, this poem just encompasses the feeling of regret so justly šŸ’œāœØ wonderfully penned šŸ„ŗ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Romi! I was worried it wouldn’t come out as expected, but you cracked it so now I know it works šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. aayye you’re a great poet šŸ’•

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Really lovely poem. I always enjoy the unedited version most.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Pooja! Have you ever tried posting a raw version on your blog too? If so, I’d love to read it from you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, most of my poems are unedited. I really don’t like editing my writing.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Yeah, you should sing that in the style of Let’s Go Crazy by Prince and the Revolution. šŸ˜ƒ
    https://genius.com/Prince-and-the-revolution-lets-go-crazy-lyrics

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll try that soon! Who knows I might turn into a lyricist too then?šŸ¤©

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re a one-woman, world-spanning arc-light just looking for your on-switch, D. šŸ¤©

        Liked by 1 person

  6. That’s a very well written poem and it is simple both in words and meaning. Devangi you rock and also the poem shows the situations we encounter in life and they are not at all perfect and that’s life

    Well donešŸ’ÆšŸ’ÆšŸ‘

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading Mthobisi! I’m pleased to hear your take on it and it’s absolutely right.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close