The Dying Artist


Painting: The Dying Artist by Zygmunt Andrychiewicz (To know more about the art and artist, click on the picture)

A Dead Man’s Wish

The Grim Reaper said, “Your time has come”. He was trembling and shaking, and sobbing bitterly. He wasn’t ready to go, not just yet. But these were instructions, not requests. He let out a wail, before he silenced abit, and after a few seconds of silence, he asked, “Will you just grant me my last wish?” The Grim Reaper considered for a second, hands on his jawbone, then replied, “As long as you don’t ask for life.” His spirits were raised by this answer and he appealed yet again, “I want to be able to listen to music and die. Can you play that violin for me?”

The Grim Reaper got skeptical, as he was deaf. But if he’s going to die, let me grant him his last wish, he thought to himself. So the Grim Reaper gave him the ability to hear, and transformed his black robes into a perfectly cut tuxedo. He took the violin from its place, and in a low note started playing a beautiful melody. He played and played, switching from low notes to high notes now, tension buzzing in the air.

Meanwhile, tears flowed from his eyes, as he said, “That violin belonged to my daughter. Darling, don’t worry, I’m coming to you!”, and with that he bled his ears and died…

Hello there again, fellows! It feels so refreshing to be back after exams. The short story above has been an instant flow of thought from my mind! I watched the painting on a friend’s story on Instagram, and this was the first thing that popped into my mind. My creative braincells are actively working, it seems, so I’ll be sure to post more here soon.

Let me know what you think of the painting, as well as of the short story.

#Qotd: Do you like to visit museums? Why or why not?

Thank you for reading! Keep visiting, and I’ll see you guys soon.

-Devangi

10 thoughts on “The Dying Artist

  1. A very moving story

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading, Sadje!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome ☺️

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I’ve seen this painting before – it’s such a gorgeous work of art. Speaking of gorgeous, your inspired prose is absolutely stunning – there’s something so deeply sad but genuinely lovely in the Grim Reaper playing the violin for the dying man.
    Looking forward to more on your blog!

    I love visiting museums – but there aren’t many where I live.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s melancholic sorrow, isn’t it? Ah same, my area too doesn’t have many museums unless I travel for over two hours. Also, thank you for the comment! I’m also definitely looking forward to see your recent works.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ahh that’s the perfect phrase, Devangi.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, and my friend has done it again, another masterpiece!……… I’d come across this painting some time ago and had simply thought it was beautiful, but your writing here has given it a wonderful perspective, quite an amazing interpretation I must say!……………. And I’m so happy for you to be back here, happy writing ahead!………

    I enjoy visiting museums, visited one at the beginning of this year. It was fun to see all the things I learned in history class in a sorta more real (tangible? although we were not able to touch some things) form. Then you know the same story as yours, they’re quite far away. I also enjoy art galleries very much!

    All the best! Bye!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so so happy you found my perspective this level of praise worthy! I happened to come by it recently, and my mind just clicked and conjured up this piece of writing, looking forward to more from you too! And I wish to explore museums and art galleries with you someday. Happy writing.✒️

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It was so good, I was just simply stating facts dear! and yes let’s seriously go together. We’ll have so much fun tbh! Thanks ;))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, we should plan a trip to a museum together!

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close