I’m a Writer


Hi, there! I haven’t blogged in nearly 8 months. But I’m a writer, so I write, simply because that’s what I do. I think I want to share my passion for writing today because well, it’s something that’s been in conflict in my mind recently.

I started writing shortly after my grandfather died; I have almost 3 to 4 diaries scrambled with all sorts of rubbish piled up in my mind. I write mostly when I’m low, rhymes flow effortlessly when grief strikes me, stories are weaved in my mind whenever I’m struck with inspiration. I think, out of all the qualities and talents I possess, writing is one that chose me, instead of me choosing it. I am mighty grateful to writing, for if I wouldn’t write, I doubt my life would have been half as bearable as writing makes it. I love to read too. But it is a hobby I chose. I don’t know what distinguishes writing from the others, but I feel deeply that I owe so much to it, for choosing me. And maybe spreading kindness and hope through it is my duty.

It chose me and I made it my companion, a companion with whom you would swing to and fro in the garden, but mostly a companion, who sits by your side and listens as you complain about the misgivings of life.

I love to experiment with writing as a chef does with his ingredients. I love getting introduced to different forms and styles of writing, and try them in my own unique way. I enjoy writing for others as much as I do for myself, provided it includes the aspect of creativity. I write poems for my friends, build characters out of the blue, give them traits and build up scenarios. If the machine that could transform thoughts into words existed, I would already have many worlds built in my mind on paper. Then again, I don’t think I’d want ALL my thoughts on paper. But writing takes real effort, dear writers, don’t you agree, that thinking of writing and actually writing are two different things?

The 8 months that I haven’t blogged hasn’t stopped me from writing, I have still filled diaries and journals, written a few poems (not everything can be shared). The problem, however is, lately writing doesn’t feel like writing to me. It feels more like a burden, like it isn’t even writing anymore. I’ve noticed a transition in my poems; they’ve gotten more longer, have become darker than the night, and generally less likable, to me, at least. In literature, I learnt about the confessional form of writing, and was happy to learn that perhaps, what I write can be included under the genre of confessional writing. Yet, whenever I write now, I feel like I’m writing a complaint letter for filing it to God. I have had so many thoughts about stopping writing and deleting my blog from the face of the internet forever. I want to be able to write like before, not just turn pain into art, but include every array of emotions into it. I’m not sure if this can be called a writer’s block, but I hope I can overcome it soon. I write with the hope that the happiness I derived from it returns again. I’m a writer, so I write today, without hoping for large views and the same, but because I simply want to write.

If you read this far, thank you for delving into my mind. I hope you resonate it with any activity that you do to ‘complain about the misgivings of life’. Let me know about those activities in the comments, or drop by a kind message. Here’s to the renewal of my blogging life, I hope I can keep it up this time. Until we meet again, stay safe and take care folks! Also, Happy Republic Day to my Indian audience🇮🇳🎉

~Devangi

Featured Image courtesy: Pexels Free Photos

24 thoughts on “I’m a Writer

  1. Lovely 💝

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great👍

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice 👌

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aw I can relate, Devangi. I love the idea of confessional writing – I suppose they require the most courage to share too. Please take your time – we’ll always be here! Also, I LOVE this – ” I write with the hope that the happiness I derived from it returns again.” ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for the kind words, Deepthy. They mean alot🤗

      Like

  5. This was so beautifully expressed Devangi…….
    Not every time that you’ll put pen to paper would you want to preserve it, sometimes you’d wanna throw it, burn it, scratch it……but I think that’s just as important…..its like how not all our moments are sweet and cheerful, and neither are our writings…..
    The night has to come for the sun to rise again…
    Wishing you all the very best for writing more and more blogs that you really appreciate and will actually want to post (not because of pressure/necessity of posting but rather the joy of it)….because i seriously want to read more from you!!!!
    With love..🫶🏻🫶🏻🫶🏻

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Nabeeha!! You’ve no idea how uplifting this is for me!😭💕

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I can’t relate to this so much 🥹🫂 one of the main reasons I stopped blogging was because I felt like what I was producing was too dark and twisted and what kind of human would I be to continue putting that into the world for others to see. I felt like something was wrong with me as I was able to write happy, light hearted content. It is only in recent years I’ve allowed myself to accept that and think it’s courageous to share some vulnerabilities with the world and no one will know if it’s confessional or a creative spin.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! And it takes courage and time for that transformation of your thoughts to sink in, especially when you see it in a tangible form of poetry and other stuff.

      Liked by 2 people

  7. Sometimes I write mentally, because like you say, it takes so much effort to actually write. I hope you continue to write what you soul feels when it feels right and eventually find some form of companionship within it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Kiya! Mental writing – haha, I create drafts too, but somehow only 10% flows on sheets🤓

      Liked by 2 people

  8. Mentally writing is something I often do building up scenarios ( that are obviously unreal and can’t happen to me , like I’m sitting in my class suddenly something strikes me and I think about turning it into a movie or something) at the same time I’m lazy to do it. Maybe it’s because I write in my notebook occasionally. Sometimes it feels like burden yep idk why sometimes writing sucks .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree, sometimes it feels like a chore.

      Liked by 2 people

  9. Oh my gosh, I feel you so hard on the “complaint letter” thing! A lot of my personal writing is like that, too, but letting those kinds of thoughts out is actually really therapeutic for me and helps me feel better! I just don’t want other people seeing them, so they mostly stay well clear of my blog 😁

    Still, I hope you find a good writing balance for yourself and get more joy out of writing again! I’ve really missed your posts, but if you need a step back from blogging or writing in general to focus on yourself, that’s always okay, too! 💙

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, yeah, there’s things you write for the blog and there’s things you write for yourself. Thank you for the kind words dear! I’ll still write, though less, you’ll see me on the blog hopefully 🤗

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I love this. Your story is similar to mine. We start somewhere, right!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, definitely gearing for the re-start!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Welcome back. Writing frees you from all those things building up in your mind. Keep on writing and connecting ✨️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Mousumi, I’m trying my best!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. My good wishes for you.❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close